January wrap up and a quick look ahead.

Finally the dreaded January blues are nearly over and February fever is close, but before we look forward to the month of St Valentine let’s reflect on what has been.

Obviously this month has had it’s highs and lows. The lows mainly being attributed to one syllable; Trump. And whilst all of the negative, rediculous and quite frankly terrifying changes that are happening, I think it is essential to focus on all the positives in my life so to not send me into a state of despair. 

So far in January I have managed to stick to a good gym regime, although I have been slightly derailed this week due to a cold. At work I feel I have managed to face some big changes with a positive mindset and potentially annoyingly happy attitude. But most importantly I have really enjoyed writing this blog.

In relation to this blog, I have so far managed to stick to my 52 books in 52 weeks challenge. I read 5 books this month! That’s the most I have read in a very long time and I am LOVING it.

What I read:

  1.  Freakonomics by Steven D Levity & Stephen J Dubner – Freakonomics Review
  2. Esio Trot by Roald Dahl – Esio Trot Review
  3. The Suffragettes 
  4. The Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  5. The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

 These books, bar the last two, were vastly different from one another covering a range of categories in the book world. 

Freakonomics and The Suffragettes were the two non-fiction books that I read. Freakonomics focused on debunking facts that we thought were true about certain topics and turned them on their head offering a different analysis on them. I wrote a post on this book that may be worth reading if you haven’t already (link in the list above). The Suffragettes was a short book that had different snippets of speeches, pamphlets and reports about the Suffragette movement giving a succinct insight. I loved this book due to its succinct nature and to read snippets of Emily Pankhursts speeches with everything that is going on in the world right now was really inspiring. 

Esio Trot, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and The Restaurant at the end of the Universe are all of the fictional books that I read in January. Esio Trot was an easy short read but very much needed and although some may feel it a little cheeky counting it as one book I think it counts. The first two books from The Hitchhikers Trilogy are the start of me trying to see something through to the end. Not a difficult task for your average Joe but as explained in my Flaky Behaviour post this will be quite the achievement once complete. 

To look ahead and focus on February I have given myself 4 books to read along with also setting myself the goal of continuing my gym routine and generally trying to make the world more chipper. 


What I hope to read:

  1. Life, the Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams
  2. Thanks for all the Fish by Douglas Adams
  3. Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams 
  4. The Time Travellers Guide to Medieval England by Ian Mortimer

Again this a mix of fiction and non-fiction which keeps things ‘fresh’, so to speak. 

Blogging wise I want to continue with the book reviews and little musings but I am also working on a couple of other ideas. One being a series about the Tudors (of course) and hopefully one about me successfully teaching myself to appreciate art. 

Whatever your goals for February are (let me know) good luck and remember to focus on the positives in life!


 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jodie B. Sloan says:

    The Time Travellers Guide is so good! And by the by, I’m currently rereading The Sunne In Splendour. It’s about Richard III so if you’re looking for some historical fiction does non fiction, I highly recommend it. Hits you right in the feels, even if you’re a Tudor girl! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that sounds good! I will take a look. X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

